Cleaning Sourdough Jars

Such a pain, right? Well, here’s a few things I have learned.

Use COLD Water. I have no idea why, but it works so much better.

Switch into clean jars once a week. It’s almost impossible to do daily, and what’s the point really?

When I change my jars I only keep what I need in my small”Mother” jar. I move the rest into my leaven jar, and I keep a small amount of discard in the fridge just in case.

If you can, put a screen on your sink and just dump the excess in the trash, as it can turn to a cement consistency and clog up your pipes.

Soaking in soapy water doesn’t help, you’re almost better off to just wipe things with a paper towel and toss it in the trash thank rinsing.

You can also just let the dang stuff dry. Really. Especially your containers after mixing. Just let it air dry out and scrape it out into the trash can. It’s just so much easier to do that.

Sourdough is a messy hobby. It’s not for people who hate cleaning, that’s for sure, but there are ways to make it easier. Always use a mat, and try not to use excess tools. Just try to keep it simple. 🤍

Leave a comment